Latest Flooding Information

Late last week, Governor Quinn announced that the Obama Administration has approved federal assistance for local governments in a total of 24 Illinois counties.  This assistance is separate from the previous FEMA federal aid that was approved last month that was geared towards supporting individuals only.  Local governments that fall within the 24 declared counties will be eligible for up to a 75% reimbursement for their flood-related expenses.  Beginning this week, IEMA and FEMA officials will schedule briefings for local government officials to explain the reimbursement process. 

CLICK HERE for a FAQ form for local government officials regarding the federal assistance process.

These counties include the following:  Adams, Bureau, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McHenry, Mercer, Ogle, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Warren and Woodford.  In addition, these counties met the federal threshold of $3.45 per capita in flood related costs (public safety and recovery efforts).  Cook County did not reach the per capita threshold as it would have needed expenses that totaled at least $17.9 million.

Other counties that are still awaiting federal approval for local government aid/reimbursements include the following:  Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Hancock, Lawrence, McDonough, Monroe, Morgan, Peoria, Schuyler, Scott, Tazewell and Will.

Contact Information
FEMA toll-free number —  1-800-621-FEMA (3362)
Other Flood Related News
A total of $7 million in Disaster Assistance Loans for residents and businesses has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  The deadline to file an SBA disaster loan application for physical damage is July 9.  CLICK HERE for more details.

A total of 8 more counties have been approved for individual federal assistance (separate from the local government asssitance).  These counties include the following:  Brown, Calhoun, Clark, Douglas, Henry, Pike, Whiteside and Winnebago.
o   The total amount of counties that have qualified for this assistance is now 33.
o   More than $68 million in federal aid has been approved in those counties thus far.

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: