Appointments made to the Illinois Bicentennial Commission

As Illinois celebrates its 198th birthday this month, Gov. Rauner announced the appointments to the Illinois Bicentennial Commission, which is tasked with leading the planning and celebration of the state’s 200th anniversary in 2018.

On Sept. 20, Gov. Rauner signed Executive Order 2016-11 to establish a commission of no more than 51 voting members, which will be housed within the new Bicentennial Office under Executive Director Stuart Layne.

The commission is made up of no more than 40 members appointed by the Governor and one member each appointed by the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, the Senate Minority Leader, the House Minority Leader, the Attorney General, the Lieutenant Governor, the Treasurer, the Comptroller, the Secretary of State, and the Mayors of Chicago and Springfield.

Senate Republican Leader Christine Radogno appointed State Sen. Pamela Althoff (R-McHenry) to represent the Caucus.

“Illinois has such an important and rich history,” said Sen. Althoff, co-chair of the Historic Preservation Legislative Caucus. “The Illinois Bicentennial is a great opportunity to celebrate that history but to also look forward to our future achievements.”

The mission of the Bicentennial Celebration (Illinois 200) is to support, create and implement events and activities that celebrate all that is great in Illinois. The Bicentennial Celebration will also create statewide initiatives that foster innovation, promote education and provide greater opportunity for all across the state.

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: