Quinn requests federal declaration and assistance for 15 counties affected by Nov. 17 tornadoes

MORRIS, IL – State Sen. Sue Rezin (R-Morris) said that Governor Pat Quinn has officially requested for a total of 15 counties, including Grundy and Will, to be declared major disaster areas by President Obama.  If approved by the President, these counties will be eligible for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as well as low-interest loans through the Small Business Administration (SBA).

Governor Quinn’s official request came after five teams of personnel from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), the FEMA, the SBA and local officials worked together over the past few days to assess the damage.  The damage assessments, known as Preliminary Disaster Assessments (PDAs), were completed yesterday.  The teams identified 2,441 homes that were damaged, 781 of which were destroyed, throughout the state.  

IEMA officials say that given the significant damage that was incurred, there is a high chance of receiving federal assistance.  However, they stressed that nothing is guaranteed and that it is now at the President’s discretion as to what counties may or may not receive assistance.

For more information about disaster recovery resources, including shelters and ways to help tornado survivors, visit http://www.illinois.gov/ready/Press/Pages/111713.aspx.


Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: