Rezin joins other state officials in tour of CITGO Refinery

State Sen. Sue Rezin (R-Peru) continued her role as a major proponent of the energy industry in Illinois by touring the CITGO Lemont Refinery on Oct. 19 with State Rep. John Anthony (R-Morris) and CITGO officials.

“These tours are a great way to learn more about the energy industry and better understand the important role energy producers play in our state’s economy, job creation, and moving us more toward energy independence,” Rezin said. “Turning on a light switch at night, heating our homes during the winter, and keeping our food fresh in the refrigerator are all very important and things we may take for granted. Our energy producers must have the support they need from legislators who are tasked with creating energy policy.”

Rezin is a leader when it comes to energy policy in Illinois, serving as the Minority Spokesperson on the Senate Energy Committee in Springfield, and representing the Energy and Chemical Corridor of America, which is in her district. The Energy and Chemical Corridor of American consists of dozens of energy and chemical producing facilities, such as nuclear, solar, coal/gas, and wind.

“These power producers can play a vital role in Illinois’ economic recovery,” Rezin said. “The good-paying jobs they create, the economic impact they produce, and the taxes they pay are much needed for our state. Allowing them to expand their operations, while also making sure we continue to protect our environment and communities, is something we must stand behind.”

From left to right: George Papoutsis, CITGO Manager of Process Technology, Pete Colarelli, CITGO Government Affairs Manager, Senator Rezin, Jim Cristman, CITGO Vice President, Lemont Refinery, Representative Anthony, Rick Kwasneski, KCS Consulting (former mayor of Lemont).

Energy and chemical producing facilities in the 38th District



Braidwood Nuclear Generating Station – Braidwood

Dresden Nuclear Generating Station – Morris

LaSalle County Nuclear Generating Station – La Salle County




Dynegy – Hennepin

Marquis Energy – Hennepin

Atlantic Power Morris Cogeneration – Morris

Dynergy Kendall Generating Facility – Minooka

Aux Sable Liquid Products – Channahon



ExxonMobil Joliet Refinery – Channahon

REG Biodiesel – Seneca



Big Sky Wind Farm – Bureau County and Lee County

Blackstone Wind Farm -La Salle County

Invenergy Grand Ridge Energy Center (includes solar) – Marseilles

Streator Cayuga Ridge South Wind Farm – Odell

Top Crop Wind Farm I & II – Livingston, La Salle, Grundy Counties

Cresent Ridge – Bureau County

AgriWind – Bureau County



Starved Rock Lock and Dam – Utica


Yet to be determined:

NRG Energy – Midwest Generation (Collins Station facility) – Morris


Chemical producing facilities in the 38th District


LyondellBasell – Morris

AkzoNobel – Morris

Reichhold Chemical – Morris

H.B. Fuller – Seneca

Carus Chemical – LaSalle & Peru

Flint Hills Resources – Peru

Air Products & Chemicals – LaSalle

Cristal Metals – Ottawa

PQ Corporation – Utica

Sabic Innovative Plastics – Ottawa

Dow Chemical – Wilmington

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: