Rezin hosts education discussion with State Superintendent and local education leaders

Understanding the importance of K-12 education, adequate funding for school districts, and making students a priority, State Sen. Sue Rezin (R-Peru) hosted a round table discussion alongside State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith, Ph.D and dozens of local education leaders from across the 38th Senate District.

“With so many important issues facing our state’s education system right now, this was a great opportunity to have the Illinois State Superintendent in the 38th Senate District and have him speak to our local education leaders about the critical problems facing schools and students in our region and possible solutions on the table,” Rezin said. “Whether it’s education funding reform, mandate relief, or other educational issues, Superintendent Smith did a great job explaining the issues, providing a roadmap for the future, and listening to concerns and suggestions from our local education leaders.” 

Superintendent Smith attended the May 2 round table discussion at Morris Country Club at the invitation of Sen. Rezin.

“Being able to hear from the State Superintendent first-hand and bounce questions and ideas off of him and each other is important because it will take all of us, as a state, to solve the most pressing needs facing our schools,” Rezin said.

I thank Senator Rezin for the opportunity to meet with local superintendents and principals in the 38th district, whose leadership is crucial during this critical time for education in Illinois,” State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith, Ph.D, said. “I appreciate the hard work these folks put in every day to help our students achieve their very best. I support their good work, and was encouraged by our dynamic conversation on issues from funding reform to mandate relief. The State Board continues to stand ready to work together for continued improvements in our State’s educational system.”

Education leaders in attendance included:

Mark Mitchell (Braidwood)

Nicholas Henkle (Channahon)

Dr. Kent Bugg (Coal City)

Ryan Linning (Dimmick)

Tony Whiston (Gardner)

Mike Perrott (Gardner South Wilmington)

Ted Sanders (Grand Ridge)

Jay McCraken (Granville)

Dan Marenda (LaSalle)

Steven Wrobleski (LaSalle)

Kristin Heredia (Marseilles)

Jeff Prusator (Mendota)

Kris Monn (Minooka)

Al Gegenheimer (Morris)

Dr. Patrick Halloran (Morris)

Kathy Perry (Morris)

Dr. Michael Rustman (Newark)

Genevieve Cepela (Newark)

Michael Pillion (Oglesby)

Michael Cushing (Ottawa)

Mark Cross (Peru)

Dr. Hector Garcia (Plano)

Dr. James Carlson (Seneca)

Mike Struna (Spring Valley)

Matt Seaton (Streator)

Ryan McGuckin (Streator)
Matt Wilkinson (Streator)

Kristine Eager (Utica)

Anthony Jay Plese (Wilmington)

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: