Illinois sites added to National Register of Historic Places

A dozen sites in Illinois have been added to the National Register of Historic Places of 2019 based on recommendations from the State Historic Preservation Office.

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of properties that merit special attention and preservation. Every Illinois county has at least one property or historic district listed in the National Register. To be eligible, properties must be more than 50 years old.

The 2019 additions are:

Chicago Municipal Tuberculosis Sanitarium District, Chicago, Cook County
Copley Hospital, Aurora, Kane County
First Congregational Church, Des Plaines, Des Plaines, Cook County
Louis Fredrick House Barrington Hills, Lake County
The Forum, Chicago, Cook County
Leaning Tower of Niles, Niles, Cook County
Lilacia Park Historic District, Lombard, Du Page County     
Alton Gas and Electric Powerhouse, Alton, Madison County
Downtown Urbana Historic District, Urbana, Champaign County  
Hunziker Winery Site, Warsaw, Hancock County   
Paris High School and Gymnasium, Paris, Edgar County  
Rollo Congregational United Church of Christ, Earlville vicinity, De Kalb County

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: